In 1971 Columbus Elementary School opened. The architects were Wilkinson and Walker. The general contractor was Tulsa Builders, Inc. In 1980 there was a fire.  The school was subsequently rebuilt.     
There have been 7 principals.
      Mahana Bryant was the first principal.
      Betty Miller was the second.
      Elwyn Pruitt was the third. 
      Nancy Jennings was fourth.
      Judy Armstrong was our fifth.
      Jené Carpenter was our sixth.
Janice Thoumire is our current principal.